Welcome to Baby-dom!

So, as the name suggests I’m a Virgin Mummy. Something of a contradiction in terms I know but bear with me….My story is that I have a thirteen week old son who is my first child.  I wanted to create this blog to connect with people in a similar situation and to keep some kind of record of what’s happening in our world at the moment. I also wanted to try to share some of the experiences that we have had as I know I have spent hours trawling the internet for people in similar situations to look for a wealth of advice. It’s the modern day equivalent of getting wisdom, experience, and old wives tales, from the women in the community.

Having been trying for a baby for about five months we were beyond excited when the test finally showed up positive, and luckily the excitement never wore off. What we weren’t prepared for was how many different kinds of pushchairs, prams and ‘travel systems’ there are, or that my days of watching anything even vaguely emotional on the television would turn me into a puddle of salty tears. We forgot that after we have the baby dog walking will never be the same again (not with the slight crazy canine in our family), and that quick trips on the motorbike for ‘speedy chips’ would be a thing of the past. We didn’t contemplate how to deal with people’s advice and whether or not we wanted to listen to the horror stories, and we certainly had no idea of what to do when that magical stick I’d taken into the bathroom minutes before indicated that our lives would be changed forever….

We never imagined that seeing a 6cm baby using my womb as it’s own personal trampoline would move us both to speechless tears, or that the medical staff we encountered were reassuringly professional yet treat us as if it’s the first time they’ve dealt with such a miracle. Telling the Grandparents-to-be was an absolute joy, yet we also shuffled around like eight year olds when each Mum asked us, ‘Was it planned?’ Brilliant! Well into my thirties and on the road to being a Mum and I can’t look my own Mum in the eye when it comes to admitting I’ve had s.e.x more than once!

Labour was, well.. laborious, but more on that later. We have actually been blessed with a very good baby but that doesn’t stop every trip being planned with military precision and every possible scenario thought out and planned for. As someone who previously tended to muddle along, arrive when I got there and generally have a pretty chilled-out view on life I have to say that I’m amazed, yet impressed at the change in me. I would say I’ve still retained my outlook but I’ve had to step my planning and organisation up several gears in order to maintain it. Since it’s been my New Years resolution for years to become streamlined and motivated I’m mega impressed at the change in me. It will be interesting to see what it will be like when Mummy-Me returns to work. A neat desk and organised workload??? Let’s not get carried away…!

Having my son is the best thing that could ever happen to us and he has changed our life in so many ways. That’s not to say it’s not the hardest thing in the world at times but when you’re more tired than a tired thing, your back aches from pacing the floor at 3am, and you’re freezing cold cos you’re doing it in your underwear, there is nothing guaranteed to warm and soothe you to your core as a beautiful smile breaking out on your little monster’s face.

So that’s what this is all about. I want to share my experiences and hopefully have people share theirs. All this is new to me and I’m loving (almost) every minute of it. I hope you’ll enjoy sharing this with me and will contribute so that the experience will be even better.

Best Wishes

TVM

This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

